For private parties & booking


Booking: circlebarbooking@gmail.com



History


The Circle Bar was established in 1999.


We have hosted or will soon host Monotonix, Mark Kozelek, James Hall, Jason Isbell, Elf Power, Dave Catching, Cate Le Bon, Peter Rowan, The Lumineers, The Whigs, The Vivian Girls, Kishi Bashi, Surfer Blood, The Dexter Romweber Duo, Delicate Steve, Floating Action, Bleached, Agent Ribbons, R. Stevie Moore, Love Language, Eleanor Friedberger, Widowspeak, Eric Lindell, Lower Dens, Woven Bones, Rotary Downs, Free Energy, Allah-Las, Esben and The Witch, Night Beats, Growlers, Shellshag, King Louie, Futurebirds, Casiotone for The Painfully Alone, Ola Podrida, Zorch, Night Beats, Royal Bangs, Seedy Seeds, David Dondero and more.


The building at 1032 St. Charles Ave., has a history as interesting as its current look. One of the oldest structures on Lee Circle, it was built around 1883, replacing an antebellum frame house. Its unique look comes from the various periods of architectural styles - including Greek Revival, Italianate, Second Empire and late Victorian - all joined together to create a look unlike any other.


One of its earliest uses was as the office of Dr. Elizabeth Magus Cohen, who wasn't only the first female physician in New Orleans but also the first woman licensed to practice medicine in Louisiana. After graduating from the Female Medical College of Pennsylvania, Dr. Cohen came to New Orleans in 1857. Though she was faced with recurring epidemics of smallpox and typhoid and yellow fevers, she was known as one of New Orleans' leading surgeons. At the end of her 30-year career, she claimed that she never lost a patient during surgery.






Site designed, developed, and maintained by Sam Randolph.